Projects are used to collect images from different sources, e.g. from search result or manual selections, into one (virtual) set of images. Selected image files stay where they are and nothing gets copied when a project is assembled.

A project is useful for developing series of images in one step.

  • Photos seen in a project remain in their original locations, the project only links to those photos.
  • Deleting a photo in a project does not delete the file from the disk.

Projects can set up manually in PhotoLab or appear automatically, e.g. when Lightroom Classic’s module options are used to hand over images or collections to PhotoLab. Projects can be used “individually” or as hierarchical projects, which were introduced in DPL6.

Manually Create a Project or Project Group

In PhotoLibrary mode, click on the plus sign in the PROJECTS headline and select to create a project or project group. Alternatively we can select a bunch of images and create a new project from that selection or add the selection to an already existing project.

We can use drag & drop to add images to a project, but not to a project group.

Building a Project Hierarchy

Building a project hierarchy is not complicated, but it helps to consider a few things:

  • Several projects can added to a project group
  • A project group can also be part of another project group
  • We can drag a project or project group onto a project group
  • BUT: dragging a project onto a project does not work

In order to build a complex project structure, it is best to proceed top-down:

  • First, define project groups
  • Then, drag project groups onto project groups
  • Then, drag existing projects onto appropriate project groups.

We can always rearrange our hierarchical project structure by dragging a project or project group onto a different project group.

Hierarchical projects can be sorted alphabetically, or by modification- or creation date. As of the time of writing, there is no manual sort order. Choose project (group) names carefully to prevent confusion.

A project or project group can be renamed or deleted. We recommend to use the context menu.

Display What’s in a Hierarchical Project

PhotoLab usually displays the contents of the selected folder only. In hierarchical projects, DPL’s preferences/settings define, what will be displayed:

  • the content of the selected project
  • the content of the selected project group and everything within that group

The respective checkbox can be found near the lower edge of the “Advanced” tab of DPL’s preferences/settings.

Remember
While we can add photos to a project, we can not add photos to a project group.
Project groups can only contain other projects or project groups!


TuToDxO.com – All rights reserved – tous droits réservés

«             »